Men's Basketball
Adam Koch Named Lowe's 2010 Senior All-American
Courtesy: UNI Athletics Communications  
Release: Thursday 04/03/2010
Courtesy: UNI Athletics Communications

April 3, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

University of Northern Iowa senior forward Adam Koch has been named to the Lowe’s 2010 Senior All-American First Team. Koch was one of ten finalists for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award that was awarded to West Virginia’s Da’Sean Butler on Saturday night at the Final Four in Indianapolis.


Along with the presentation of the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award, the ten finalists are named Senior All-Americans on either the first team or second team. Joining Koch and Butler on the first team are Luke Harangody (Notre Dame), Chris Kramer (Purdue) and Jon Scheyer (Duke).


Koch was previously named the Larry Bird Missouri Valley Conference Player of the Year, selected to's Lou Henson Mid-Major All-America team and recognized as first-team All-District by the National Association of Basketball Coaches.


Koch also excelled in the classroom, taking home the Missouri Valley Conference Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award for 2009-10.


The second team consisted of Matt Bouldin (Gonzaga), Marquis Hall (Lehigh), Damion James (Texas), Raymar Morgan (Michigan State) and Josh Young (Drake).


The award, chosen by a nationwide vote of Division I men’s coaches, national basketball media and fans, is awarded annually to the most outstanding senior student-athlete in NCAA® Division I men’s basketball.


An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School™, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: classroom, community, character and competition. The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards that a senior season can bring.


Sportscaster Dick Enberg, Honorary Chairman of the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award, first conceived the idea of an award for seniors in 2001 in response to the growing trend of men’s basketball players leaving school early for the NBA.



2010 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award

Senior All-America First Team


Name                          Position           School

Da’Sean Butler             Forward           West Virginia University

Luke Harangody           Forward           University of Notre Dame

Adam Koch                 Forward           University of Northern Iowa

Chris Kramer               Guard               Purdue University

Jon Scheyer                  Guard               Duke University



Senior All-America Second Team


Name                          Position           School

Matt Bouldin                Guard               Gonzaga University

Marquis Hall                 Guard               Lehigh University

Damion James              Forward           University of Texas at Austin

Raymar Morgan           Forward           Michigan State University

Josh Young                  Guard               Drake University


Back to

Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Lincoln Savings Bank
Wellmark 3 Point Play
Iowa Donor_300x250
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Missouri Valley Football Conference
Missouri Valley Conference
Learfield Sports
University of Northern Iowa
Diversity Matters