DeGeest, Payton Earn AVCA All-Region Honors
Courtesy: UNI Athletics Communications  
Release: Friday 12/06/2011

University of Northern Iowa volleyball players Bre Payton and Krista DeGeest were named to the 2011 American Volleyball Coaches Assocation All-Central Region team.

Payton (Waterloo, Iowa/Columbus HS) earned all-region honors for the third straight season, while it was the first time that DeGeest (Spencer, Iowa/Spencer HS) tallied all-region accolades.

Payton and DeGeest helped lead the Panthers to a 33-2 record, an 18-0 regular season in the MVC for a third straight season and back-to-back-to-back MVC tournament titles in 2011.

Central Region


Rachael Adams** University of Texas MB Sr.
Brianne Barker** University of Oklahoma S Sr.
Kelsey Black Texas A&M University OH Sr.
Suzy Boulavsky University of Oklahoma RS Sr.
Krista DeGeest University of Northern Iowa MB Jr.
Haley Eckerman University of Texas OH Fr.
Lisa Henning University of Missouri OH Soph.
Carly Jenson Iowa State University OH Sr.
Alison Landwehr Iowa State University S Jr.
Lindsey Miller Texas A&M University MB Jr.
Bre Payton*** University of Northern Iowa S Sr.
Kaitlynn Pelger Kansas State University MB Soph.
Jamie Straube** Iowa State University MB Jr.
Bailey Webster University of Texas MB Soph.

Region Freshman of the Year: Haley Eckerman, Texas, OH

Honorable Mention: Emily Adney (Wichita State, OH, Jr.), Kristen Hahn (Iowa St., L, So.), Caroline Jarmoc, Kansas, MB, So.), Sallie McLaurin (Oklahoma, MB, So.), Allie Sawatzky (Texas A&M, S, So.), Carly Thomas (Missouri St., S, So.)

Back to

Never Stops Tee
Pack N Go Jacket
Women's Twisted Tee
Varsity Polo
Lincoln Savings Bank
Wellmark 3 Point Play
Iowa Donor_300x250
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Missouri Valley Football Conference
Missouri Valley Conference
Learfield Sports
University of Northern Iowa
Diversity Matters