Women's Basketball
Baylor Earns No. 1 Seed in Des Moines Regional
Courtesy: UNI Athletics Communications  
Release: Thursday 03/12/2012

INDIANAPOLIS--The 64-team field of competitors for the 2012 NCAA Division I
Women’s Basketball Championship was announced today by the NCAA Division I Women’s
Basketball Committee.

Earning No. 1 seeds are Baylor University (34-0); the University of Notre Dame (30-3);
the University of Connecticut (29-4) and Stanford University (31-1). Baylor and Stanford each
won their respective conference regular season and tournament titles in the Big 12 and Pacific-12 Conferences, respectively, while Notre Dame won the regular season championship and Connecticut won the conference tournament championship in the Big East Conference.
Thirty-one conferences were granted automatic bids for the 2012 championship and the
remaining 33 teams were selected at-large.

First- and second-round games will be played at 16 sites Saturday, March 17 thru Tuesday, March 20. The 16 second-round winners move on to the four regional sites. The Des Moines Regional (Wells Fargo Arena, Des Moines, Iowa) and the Fresno Regional (Save Mart Center, Fresno, Calif.) will be played on Saturday, March 24 and Monday, March 26, while the Kingston Regional (The Ryan Center, Kingston, R.I.) and the Raleigh Regional (PNC Arena, Raleigh, N.C.) will be held Sunday, March 25 and Tuesday, March 27.

The four regional winners will advance to the 2012 NCAA® Women’s Final Four®, April 1 and
3, at the Pepsi Center in Denver. Tennessee continues its appearance streak, participating now in all 31 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championships. Second on the all-time appearance list is the University of Georgia, making its 29th overall appearance. The University at Albany (NY), Florida Gulf Coast University and St. Bonaventure University are making their first trip to the tournament this year.

In the history of the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship, 14 schools
have captured the national title. Tennessee leads the way with eight championships followed by Connecticut with seven. Texas A&M University is the defending national champion after
claiming the 2011 title in Indianapolis, with a 76-70 win over Notre Dame in the title game.
2012 top seeds Notre Dame, Connecticut and Stanford were part of the 2011 Women’s Final
Four field along with Texas A&M.

Back to

Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Lincoln Savings Bank
Wellmark 3 Point Play
Iowa Donor_300x250
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Missouri Valley Football Conference
Missouri Valley Conference
Learfield Sports
University of Northern Iowa
Diversity Matters