Uploaded Ad
UNI Wrestling Team Moves Up in MAC Rankings
Courtesy: UNI Athletics Communications  
Release: Wednesday 11/16/2012

CLEVELAND, Ohio - The University of Northern Iowa wrestling team and two UNI wrestlers moved up in the latest Mid-American Conference wrestling rankings.

The MAC wrestling coaches announced the November rankings for each weight class in conjunction with the league office today. The rankings will be released each month throughout the season, with one additional ranking system (two total) in January and February.

UNI moved up two spots from last month and currently is ranked fifth. Wrestlers David Bonin and Ryan Loder also improved their rankings from last month. Bonin currently is ranked second in the 157-pound weight class in the conference, up from fourth last month. Loder is ranked third at 184 pounds. Last month, he was fourth.

Based on the individual rankings, new MAC affiliate member Missouri is expected to win the 2013 conference championship and end the 11-year consecutive run by the Central Michigan Chippewas as MAC defending champions.

The 2012-13 November coaches rankings, voted on by the league's head coaches in an open forum are as follows:

2012-13 MAC Rankings for November:

125  - 1. Alan Waters (Missouri); 2. Joe Roth (CMU); 3. Jared Germaine (EMU); 4. Max Soria (UB).

133 - 1. Scotti Sentes (CMU); 2. Nathan McCormick (Missouri); 3. Joe Colon (Northern Iowa); 4. Erik Galloway (UB).

141 - 1. Nick Hucke (Missouri); 2. Andrew Schutt (UB); 3. Scott Mattingly (CMU); 4. Ethan Davis (NIU).

149 - 1. Drake Houdasheldt (Missouri); 2. Donnie Corby (CMU); 3. Blake Roulo (UB); 4. Nick Carr (KSU).

157 - 1. Kyle Bradley (Missouri); 2. David Bonin (Northern Iowa); 3. Aaron Sulzer (EMU) 4. Mallie Shuster (KSU).

165 - 1. Mike Ottinger (CMU); 2. Zach Toal (Missouri); 3. Mark Lewandowski (UB); 4. Harrison Hightower (OU).

174 - 1. John-Martin Cannon (UB); 2. Todd Porter (Missouri) t3. Sam Wheeler (KSU); t3. Craig Kelliher (CMU).

184 - 1. Ben Bennett (CMU); 2. Mike Larson (Missouri); 3. Ryan Loder (Northern Iowa); 4. Casey Newburg (KSU).

197 -1. Dustin Kilgore (KSU); 2. Brent Haynes (Missouri); 3. Nick Wittenberg (EMU); 4. Angelo Malvestuto (UB).

HWT - 1. Dom Bradley (Missouri); 2. Jarod Trice (CMU); 3. Jeremy Johnson (OU); 4. Keith Witt (KSU).

The preseason team rankings also were decided in the same forum. The eight schools were ranked based on the number of first through fourth-place votes that were earned in the individual voting system. A first-place vote was worth four team points. A second-place vote earned three team points. Third-seeded votes were worth two team points. A fourth-place tally earned teams one point in the team ranking system. The preseason team rankings for the MAC are as follows:

2012-13 MAC November Coaches Rankings

1.            Missouri (35)

2.            Central Michigan (24.5)

3.            Buffalo (14)

4.            Kent State (9.5)

5.            Northern Iowa (7)

6.            Eastern Michigan (6)

7.            Ohio (3)

8.            Northern Illinois (1)

Earlier this fall, the conference announced the addition of the University of Missouri, UNI and Old Dominion University as affiliate members in the sport of wrestling. All three universities joined the MAC with five-year agreements, with Missouri and Northern Iowa joining the MAC for the conference tournament only for the 2012-13 season and then to participate fully in regular season and tournament action for the next four consecutive years (2013-14 season through 2016-17 academic season). Old Dominion will join the MAC for the regular season and tournament action in the 2013-14 season through the 2017-18 academic season.

The 2013 MAC Wrestling Championships will be held March 10 and hosted by the University at Buffalo.

Last year, Central Michigan won its 11th consecutive MAC wrestling championship with 89 team points. Kent State was the runner-up with 79 points, while Eastern Michigan was third with 49 points.

Back to

Never Stops Tee
Pack N Go Jacket
Women's Twisted Tee
Varsity Polo
Lincoln Savings Bank
Wellmark 3 Point Play
Iowa Donor_300x250
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Mid-American Conference
Missouri Valley Football Conference
Missouri Valley Conference
Learfield Sports
University of Northern Iowa
Diversity Matters