Three Named to MVFC All-Newcomer Team
Courtesy: UNI Athletics Communications  
Release: Sunday 11/27/2012

ST. LOUIS, Mo. - The University of Northern Iowa football team has landed three student-athletes on the 2012 MVFC All-Newcomer Team. Sawyer Kollmorgen, Jake Farley and Sam Rohr were all announced as part of the team today by the conference.

Kollmorgen was named the MVFC Freshman of the Year and the MVFC Newcomer of the Year last week by the conference and headlines the offensive All-Newcomer team. He became the fifth freshman to start at quarterback in UNI history finishing the season 185 for 313 passing with 21 touchdowns and 2,460 yards.

The Jenks, Okla. Native finished second in the conference in total offense averaging 228.4 yards per game and in passing average per game with 222.7. He also finished first in pass efficiency at 141.9 and threw for over 200 yards in nine games.

Kollmorgen joins the ranks of other UNI Newcomer of the Year winners Terrance Freeney from 2003, Darian Williams from 2006 and Tirrell Rennie from 2010. He also joins former Panthers Tom Petrie from 2001 and Eric Sanders from 2004 who have won Freshman of the Year honors.

Rohr joins Kollmorgen on the All-Newcomer Offensive team. Rohr started in six games and played in all 11 as a redshirt freshman at the tight end position. He finished the season with 202 yards and two touchdowns. He averaged 18.4 yards a game and 22.4 yards per reception.

After transferring from Kansas, Farley finished the 2012 season with a total of 85 tackles, tying Wilmot Wellington for first on the team in tackles. He finished with 46 unassisted and 39 assisted tackles. He started in six games during the season and notched four pass breakups.

OL Josh Aladenoye, Illinois State
OL Jermaine Barton, Illinois State
FB Andrew Bonnet, North Dakota State
OG Josh Colville, North Dakota State
RB John Crockett, North Dakota State
WR Phil Dudley, Illinois State                  
RB Ryan Heaston, Missouri State          
QB Sawyer Kollmorgen, UNI                    
QB Mike Perish, Indiana State                
TE Sam Rohr, UNI                               
WR/KR Fredson Salomon, Western Illinois        
RB/RS Jasper Sanders, South Dakota       

CB Julius Childs, Youngstown State    
LB Alex Donnelly, Illinois State           
LB Jake Farley, UNI                             
LB T.J. Lally, South Dakota State         
P Ben LeCompte, North Dakota State
DL Marshall Peugh, South Dakota State            
LB J.J. Raffelson, Western Illinois       
DB Mark Sewall, Indiana State           
SS Ezra Thompson, Illinois State         
DE Connor Underwood, Indiana State
LB Tyler Williamson, Southern Illinois

Back to

Never Stops Tee
Pack N Go Jacket
Women's Twisted Tee
Varsity Polo
Lincoln Savings Bank
Wellmark 3 Point Play
Iowa Donor_300x250
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Missouri Valley Football Conference
Missouri Valley Conference
Learfield Sports
University of Northern Iowa
Diversity Matters