Men's Basketball
Jacobson Finalist for 2013 Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award
Courtesy: UNI Athletics Communications  
Release: Sunday 03/12/2013

BOSTON, Mass. - University of Northern Iowa head men's basketball coach Ben Jacobson is a finalist for the 2013 Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award.

Jacobson led the UNI Panthers to an 18-14 mark overall in 2012-13 and an outright third-place finish in the Missouri Valley Conference with a record of 11-7 in league play. In his seven seasons at UNI, Jacobson has won at least 18 games in every season. In fact, UNI has won 18 or more games in 10 straight seasons. Jacobson is averaging 21.0 wins per season as a head coach.

The Skip Prosser Award was established in 2008 to honor those who not only achieve success on the basketball court but who display moral integrity off of it as well. Prosser posted a career record of 291-146 in 14 seasons as a head coach. During his time at Wake Forest, his teams averaged 21 wins per season while playing in arguably the nation's most difficult league, the Atlantic Coast Conference.

The finalists include John Beilein (Michigan), Tony Bennett (Virginia), Rick Byrd (Belmont), Kermit Davis (Middle Tennessee), Billy Donlon (Wright State), Jim Engles (NJIT), Steve Fisher (San Diego State), John Gallagher (Hartford), Anthony Grant (Alabama), Ben Jacobson (UNI), Jim Larranaga (Miami), Ryan Marks (UT-Pan American), Bob McKilop (Davidson), Joe Mihalich (Niagara), Dave Paulsen (Bucknell), Brett Reed (Lehigh), Zach Spiker (Army), Bob Thomason (Pacific), John Thompson III (Georgetown), Bruce Weber (Kansas State).

"It's an honor just to be mentioned with the name Skip Prosser," said Loyola MD coach Jimmy Patsos who was the recipient of the 2012 award. "Skip was such a great person. He went from Loyola to Wake Forest and never changed as a person. It would be a great honor for any one of these finalists to win an award with Skip's name on it."

The 2013 recipient will be announced at the awards banquet in Atlanta, site of the men's NCAA Basketball Championship.

Past Recipients
2012: Jimmy Patsos, Loyola MD
2011: Chris Mack, Xavier
2010: Bob Marlin, Sam Houston State
2009: Ed Conroy, The Citadel
2008: Mike Brey, Notre Dame

Back to

Never Stops Tee
Pack N Go Jacket
Women's Twisted Tee
Varsity Polo
Lincoln Savings Bank
Wellmark 3 Point Play
Iowa Donor_300x250
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Missouri Valley Football Conference
Missouri Valley Conference
Learfield Sports
University of Northern Iowa
Diversity Matters