Women's Basketball
Kalin Awarded NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship
Courtesy: UNI Athletics Communications  
Release: Thursday 04/23/2013

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa – Senior guard Jacqui Kalin has been awarded the prestigious NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship for winter sports, it was announced today.

Kalin graduated with her undergraduate degree in Sport Psychology in 2010, posting a 4.0 GPA each year. The sixth-year senior has been defending her thesis for her Master’s in Kinesiology and Sport Psychology this semester, also finishing with a 4.0 GPA.

Kalin became the first player in UNI women’s basketball history to be named a finalist for the award Senior CLASS Award and became the first player in UNI history to be named to the CoSIDA All-American first team.  

She is an active member and the MVC representative for the NCAA Division I National Student Athlete Advisory Committee and is an active member of the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Issues Committee. Kalin was the UNI Co-President of the SAAC from the spring of 2010 to the spring of 2012 and is a member of the UNI Intercollegiate Athletics Advisory Council.

On the court, the Sioux City, Iowa native is a two-time Jackie Stiles Player of the Year and MVC Scholar-Athlete of the year winner. She led UNI and the MVC in scoring with 662 points during the 2012-13 season, averaging 19.5 per game. Kalin was named the MVC Player of the Week five times during the season, including after her career high 37 points against Missouri State on Feb. 10.

This season, Kalin was named to the MVC All-Conference first team for the third time in her career. She is now the all-time leader at UNI in scoring (2,081), three-point field goals made (265), free throws made (484), free throw percentage (.920), assists (491), games started (136), games played (136) and minutes (4,352).

The NCAA awards up to 174 postgraduate scholarships annually, 87 for men and 87 for women. The scholarships are awarded to student-athletes who excel academically and athletically and who are in their final year of intercollegiate athletics competition.

The one-time grants of $7,500 each are awarded for fall sports, winter sports and spring sports. Each sports season (fall, winter and spring), there are 29 scholarships available for men and 29 scholarships available for women. The scholarships are one-time, non-renewable grants.

The NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship was created in 1964 to promote and encourage postgraduate education by rewarding the Association's most accomplished student-athletes through their participation in NCAA championship and/or emerging sports. Athletics and academic achievements, as well as campus involvement, community service, volunteer activities and demonstrated leadership, are evaluated. An equitable approach is employed in reviewing each applicant's nomination form to provide opportunity to all student-athlete nominees to receive the postgraduate award, regardless of sport, division, gender or race. In maintaining the highest broad-based standards in the selection process, the program aims to reward those individuals whose dedication and effort are reflective of those characteristics necessary to succeed and thrive through postgraduate study in an accredited graduate degree program.

Eligibility is restricted to student-athletes at NCAA member institutions who, in their final year of eligibility, have performed with distinction as members of varsity teams in the sport for which they were nominated. Nominees must have a minimum grade-point average of 3.200 (based on a 4.000 scale), be nominated by the faculty athletics representative or athletics director, and intend to continue academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree as a part-time or full-time graduate student.

Back to

Never Stops Tee
Pack N Go Jacket
Women's Twisted Tee
Varsity Polo
Lincoln Savings Bank
Wellmark 3 Point Play
Iowa Donor_300x250
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Missouri Valley Football Conference
Missouri Valley Conference
Learfield Sports
University of Northern Iowa
Diversity Matters