UNI Wraps Up Spring With Spring Game Presented By Tyson
Courtesy: UNI Athletics Communications  
Release: Sunday 04/26/2013

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa – The University of Northern Iowa football team finished spring drills today with their annual Spring Game presented by Tyson. The defense came away with a spring ball victory over the offense, winning 51-31 with the instituted scoring system.

The offense was led by sophomore Sawyer Kollmorgen, finishing 17-24 with 235 yards. One of the highlights of the game for the Panther offense was a 16-yard passing touchdown to Chad Owens.

Evan Williams finished the game with 54 yards, scoring two touchdowns after sitting out during the fall with an injury. Phil Wright finished with 73 yards in the air and Kreston Caldwell notched 80.

The highlight of the spring game for the defense was a 74-yard interception return from transfer Makinton Dorleant. Dorleant finished with two interceptions and Blake Willson added another to give the Panthers three on the day.

Jake Farley led the team in tackles with six while Jarod Syndergaard added five. Transfer Tate Omli also finished the game with five tackles in his first outing in the purple and gold.

The Panthers will open the 2013 season against Iowa State August 31 in Ames, Iowa. To purchase season tickets, call UNITix at 319-273-4849.


Evan Williams 21 yd run (Tyler Sievertsen kick)

Evan Williams 8 yd run (Tyler Sievertsen kick)

Sawyer Kollmorgen 16 pass to Chad Owens (Tyler Sievertsen kick)

Makinton Dorleant 74 yd interception return (Tyler Sievertsen kick)


Sawyer Kollmorgen 17-24, 235 yds, TD; Stephen Kaiser 8-14, 71 yds, 2 INT; Justin Black


Evan Williams 6-54, 2 TD; Tyvis Smith 8-1; Alex Carr 6-9; Stephen Kaiser 6-9, Austin Ebertowski 3-2


Phil Wright 5-73; Chad Owens 6-69 TD; Kreston Caldwell 7-80; Cody McCoy 5-17; Mike Weidemann 4-36; Tyvis Smith 3-18 Evan Williams 1-13


Karter Schult 2, Isaac Ales 2, Mac O'Brien 1.5, Chris Jepsen 1, Tim Kilfoy 0.5


Makinton Dorleant 2, Blake Willson 1


Jake Farley 6, Jarod Syndergaard 5, Tate Omli 5, Edwin Young 5, Joe Feldpausch 4, Tavaughn Blair 4, Max Busher 4, Tim Kilfoy 3, Jordan Gacke 3, Mac O'Brien 3, Blake Willson 3, Jalen Barnes 2, Wyatt Peiffer 2, Collin Albrecht 2, Chris Jepsen 2, Isaac Ales 2, Xavier Williams 2, Deiondre' Hall 1, Brett McMakin 1, Breion Creer 1.

Back to

Never Stops Tee
Pack N Go Jacket
Women's Twisted Tee
Varsity Polo
Lincoln Savings Bank
Wellmark 3 Point Play
Iowa Donor_300x250
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Missouri Valley Football Conference
Missouri Valley Conference
Learfield Sports
University of Northern Iowa
Diversity Matters