Cross Country
UNI Heads to Minneapolis for Oz Memorial
Courtesy: UNI Athletics Communications  
Release: Saturday 09/07/2011
Courtesy: UNI Athletics Communications
View larger


Oz Memorial

Friday, September 9, 2011

Minneapolis, Minn.

The University of Northern Iowa men's and women's cross country teams will travel to Minneapolis, Minn., this Friday to compete in the Oz Memorial hosted by the University of Minnesota. The Panther men and women will each run 6k races at Les Bolstad Golf Course, with the men scheduled to start at 4 p.m. and the women to follow.

Vosberg Claims Bulldog Classic Title

UNI senior Aaron Vosberg ran away with the men's individual title at the season-opening Bulldog Classic held in Des Moines on Sept. 2. Vosberg completed the 4k course in 12:41.22 to hold off the rest of the field by nearly seven seconds. He became the first Panther to claim a men's cross country individual title since Thibault Vandenabeele won the Bradley Classic on Oct. 16, 2009.

Schon Leads Panther Women

Junior Scotti Schon (Waukon, Iowa/Waukon) led the UNI women across the finish line for the first time in her career on Sept. 2 at the Bulldog Classic. Schon finished the 4k in a collegiate personal-best 15:28.24 to take sixth place overall. In April, she set the UNI school record in the 3,000m steeplechase by a margin of more than 10 seconds.

Making Strides

Three Panther women made significant improvements with their 4k times at the Bulldog Classic (9/2). Junior Scotti Schon, who led UNI with a sixth-place finish, cut 24 seconds off her 4k time from the 2010 version of the Bulldog Classic. Junior Lindsey Wilkins also shaved 24 seconds off her time from 2010, and Allison Fick topped her performance from Drake last season by 47 seconds.

The UNI men accomplished much of the same, with Aaron Vosberg (10 seconds), Brendan Thompson (21 seconds) and David Nielsen (8 seconds) all trimming time off their 2010 performances in the 4k.

Freshmen Debuts

Of the eight freshmen on the UNI women's team, four made their collegiate debuts at the Bulldog Classic on Sept. 2. Alex Wilson (Lisbon, Iowa/Mount Vernon-Lisbon) was the top finisher among the freshmen, taking 11th place overall with a 4k time of 15:51.64. Brittany Bunger (Jesup, Iowa/Jesup) placed 22nd, Haley Stevens (Denver, Iowa/Denver) took 23rd and Shelby Curtis (Carlisle, Iowa/Carlisle) finished 28th.

On the men's side, two freshmen saw their first action at the Bulldog Classic. Tanner Reyhons (Waterloo, Iowa/Cedar Falls) was the No. 4 finisher for the Panthers, taking 15th place overall with a 4k time of 13:09.40. Terry Nielsen (Cedar Falls, Iowa/NU High) placed 21st in 13:18.45.

Academic Prowess

The UNI women's cross country team was recognized in May by the NCAA for its latest multi-year Academic Progress Rate (APR) score. The Panthers posted a multi-year APR score in the top 10 percent of all squads in women's cross country.

The APR provides a real-time look at a team's academic success each semester by tracking the academic progress of each student-athlete on scholarship. It accounts for eligibility, retention and graduation and provides a measure of each team's academic performance.

In addition, Brett Egan was named the inaugural recipient of the Missouri Valley Conference Elite 18 Award as the top scholar-athlete in men's cross country. The 2010 All-MVC Performer was also named to the league's Scholar-Athlete Team.

Back to

Never Stops Tee
Pack N Go Jacket
Women's Twisted Tee
Varsity Polo
Lincoln Savings Bank
Wellmark 3 Point Play
Iowa Donor_300x250
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Missouri Valley Football Conference
Missouri Valley Conference
Learfield Sports
University of Northern Iowa
Diversity Matters