Cross Country
Men, Women Finish Second at Saluki Invitational
Courtesy: UNI Athletics Communications  
Release: Tuesday 09/22/2012

CARBONDALE, Ill. - The University of Northern Iowa cross country teams competed at the Saluki Invitational this afternoon in Carbondale, Ill.  The host of the event was Southern Illinois.  The men and women both took home second place for their efforts on the afternoon.  Overall, seven Panthers finished in the top 25 on the men's side while eight Panther women finished in the top 25. 

The men finished with 43 points, just shy of host Southern Illinois with 20.  Creighton and Millikin University followed with third and fourth place respectively.  UNI posted an average time of 26:40.68. 

Senior Brett Egan took home the top spot in the men's 8k race with a time of 25:14.70.  Freshman Zach Buchheit, junior Andrew Swanson, and sophomore Terry Nielson played 13th, 14th, and 15th respectively with times of 26:49.20, 27:00.10, and 27:03.60. 

Junior Calvin Kibby took home 17th with a time of 27:15.80 and senior Ryan Krogmann finished in a time of 27:19.80, good enough for 19th place.  Freshman Ben Fick cracked the top 25 as well, finishing 22nd in 28:17.00. 

On the women's side UNI finished second with 44 points.  The host, Southern Illinois, took top honors with 21 points.  Creighton, Millikin University, Kaskaskia College, and Freed-Hardeman filled out the top six.  The Panthers finished with an average time of 19:17.10. 

Seniors Allison Fick and Hayley Thomas finished three and four respectively with times of 18:32.06 and 18:45.11.  Fellow senior Scotti Schon also cracked the top 10 with a time of 19:25.56, which was enough for a 10th place finish.  Fellow senior Lindsey Wilkins followed Scotti by placing 12th overall with a time of 19:40.69 and senior April Davidshofer placed 17th with a time of 20:02.04. 

Overall Results - Men

1 Brett Egan, 25:14.70

13 Zach Buchheit, 26:49.20

14 Andrew Swanson, 27:00.10

15 Terry Nielson, 27:03.60

17 Calvin Kibby, 27:15.80

19 Ryan Krogmann, 27:19.80

22 Ben Fick, 28:17.00

Overall Results - Women

3 Allison Fick, 18:32.06

4 Hayley Thomas, 18:45.11

10 Scotti Schon, 19:25.56

12 Lindsey Wilkins, 19:40.69

17 April Davidshofer, 20:02.04

19 Hannah Martin, 20:06.01

20 Alex Wilson, 20:08.19

23 Callie Matthews, 20:19.73

28 Clancy Hosch, 21:03.52

37 Haley Stevens, 21:49.56

40 Brittany Bunger, 22:21.81

Back to

Never Stops Tee
Pack N Go Jacket
Women's Twisted Tee
Varsity Polo
Lincoln Savings Bank
Wellmark 3 Point Play
Iowa Donor_300x250
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Missouri Valley Football Conference
Missouri Valley Conference
Learfield Sports
University of Northern Iowa
Diversity Matters